We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Running Back Mastermix: Tony Humphries DJ Mix

by Various

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more




Running Back will mark its fifteenth anniversary with the release of its first label compilation, the Running Back Mastermix, in September. As befitting the celebration of a landmark year in the life of Gerd Janson's widely adored imprint, Janson has invited one of house music's original & greatest proponents of the Mastermix, NYC's Tony Humphries, to curate and mix the CD & digital editions of the compilation, accompanied by an unmixed double-LP which features a handful of the compilations rare & exclusive cuts.

The Mastermix is a timely reminder of what has made Running Back endure and remain at the top of many house music fans' favourite label lists for over a decade. Beginning with Todd Terje's blockbuster 'Ragysh' and traversing tracks from across the label's history, it includes contributions from long time label regulars alongside more recent additions and reminders of some of RB's best reissues. Label mainstays Tiger & Woods, Matthew Styles, Redshape and Leon Vynehall all appear, alongside Mr G, Paul Woolford and recent breakthrough artists Shan, Jex and Roy Camanchero. Tiger & Woods's 'Don't Hesitate' appears on vinyl for the first time, while the Dixon edit of Precious System's anthem 'The Voice From Planet Love' will be available on wax again after only appearing on a super limited 12" run the first time around.

The choice of Tony Humphries to mix the compilation is a significant one. Having received his break in the early 80s as an understudy for the legendary Shep Pettibone's Kiss FM show, Humphries went on to become one of the defining DJs of house music's formative years with his residency at New Jersey's Club Zanzibar and London's Ministry of Sound. His previous mixes illustrate his continuing ability to bridge dance music's past & present, with prior contributions to Resident Advisor and Fabric's respective series in addition to label compilations for King Street Sounds and West End Records.
"It's truly an honor to partake in this special anniversary Running Back imprint. Gerd Janson’s extraordinary palette of releases are unique - it was a privilege to be involved with this project." - Tony Humphries


released September 15, 2017

01. Todd Terje - Ragysh 
02. Roy Comanchero - The Delete of Society 
03. Tiger & Woods - Do not Hesitate 
04. Tiger & Woods -Time 
05. Jex - La Casa 
06. Tiger & Woods - No More Talking 
07. Precious System - The Voice From PlanetLove
08. Precious System - The Voice From PlanetLove (Beat-Appella) 
09. Leon Vynehall - Beau Sovereign 
10. Shan - Work It (Piano Mix) 
11. Redshape - Dogz 
12. Mr. G - Ben & Gerd (Killin It M Day) 
13. Heaven and Earth - Prescription Every Night 
14. Paul Woolford - Forevermore 
15. Matthew Styles - Hot! 
16. Shan - Bassline Party


all rights reserved



Running Back Lorsch, Germany

Guilty feet have got no rhythm!

demos@running- back.com

We are only able to ship via FEDEX to Australia, please check shipping rates. We can also reserve orders for those territories, please get in contact for more info!
... more

contact / help

Contact Running Back

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Running Back Mastermix: Tony Humphries DJ Mix, you may also like: